

authority is left to the municipalities. By general agreement, daylight saving time, where it is observed, is in force from the last Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

1.5 Public land

The total area of Canada and areas of individual provinces and territories are classified by tenure in Table 1.8. All lands, except those privately owned or in process of alienation, are Crown lands under the jurisdiction of either federal or provincial governments.

Federal public land. Public lands under federal government administration comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, lands in the Yukon Territory, ordnance and admiralty lands, national parks and national historic parks and sites, forest experiment stations, experimental farms, Indian reserves and, in general, all public lands held by the several departments of the federal government for various purposes connected with federal administration. These lands are administered under the Territorial Lands Act (RSC 1970, c.T-6) and the Public Lands Grants Act (RSC 1970, c.P-29).

The largest areas under federal jurisdiction are in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory where only 241 square kilometres of a total area of 3 916 007 km² are privately owned and 3 877.5 km² are administered by the territorial governments.

Provincial and territorial public land. Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the "railway belt" and Peace River block) have been administered since Confederation by the provincial governments. In